top of page

Forest & Climate

Arboretum Solutions is committed to forest & climate.

Become part of our project and become our climate protection partner. Feel free to contact us and benefit from our expertise.

phone

+49 40 8221 8 6220

e-mail 

Wald & Klima
Großer Baum

Why are afforestation projects needed?

One of the greatest challenges of our time is the climate crisis. An important part of mitigating climate change is dealing with the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (CO2), of which emissions into the atmosphere exacerbate global warming. The impacts of steadily increasing CO2 concentrations, since the industrial revolution, are already evident. The earth has already warmed by about one degree since the 19th century, sea levels are rising steadily, severe weather events are increasing and habitats are being increasingly destroyed.

 

It is now necessary to actively counteract this development and consciously remove CO2 from the atmosphere. This is where the so-called “carbon sinks” come into play, natural reservoirs that absorb and store carbon dioxide from the air. Worldwide afforestation projects can help to create these in the long term.

It should be noted that a forest can only act as a functional carbon sink if the trees still have biological advantages through height growth, i.e., the forest is not yet a fully grown primeval forest.

iStock-1066602804.jpg
jay-mantri-TFyi0QOx08c-unsplash.jpg

What is the significance of mitigation for climate change?

In climate policy, mitigation basically means reducing greenhouse gas emissions in order to limit the global rise in temperature. The current goal is to limit global warming to a maximum of 1.5 degrees Celsius. The most important measure is to phase out the burning of fossil raw materials for energy production and to switch to alternative energy sources such as wind or water power. In addition, climate-damaging CO2 must ideally be removed from the atmosphere. An important factor would be the afforestation of forests, as plants bind carbon dioxide. Soils are also considered important carbon reservoirs; accordingly, measures must be taken to protect peatlands and permafrost soils. However, technical measures can theoretically also be pursued, such as the capture and underground storage of CO2.

bottom of page

top of page

Wald & Klima

Arboretum Foundation engagiert sich für Wald & Klima.

Werden Sie Teil unseres Vorhabens und werden Sie Klimaschutzpartner und unterstützen eines unserer Projekte.

 

Nehmen Sie gern Kontakt mit uns auf.

Telefon

+49 159 01313219

E-Mail 

Wald & Klima
Großer Baum

Warum werden Aufforstungsprojekte benötigt?

Eine der größten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit stellt die Klimakrise dar. Bedeutender Bestandteil, um den Klimawandel einzudämmen, ist der Umgang mit dem Treibhausgas Kohlenstoffdioxid (CO₂), dessen Emission in die Atmosphäre die globale Erderwärmung verstärkt. Die Auswirkungen der seit der industriellen Revolution stetig ansteigenden CO2-Konzentration sind folglich deutlich sichtbar. So hat sich die Erde seit dem 19. Jahrhunderts bereits um etwa ein Grad erwärmt, der Meeresspiegel steigt stetig, Unwetterereignisse nehmen zu und Lebensräume werden zunehmend zerstört.

 

Es gilt nun aktiv zu handeln, um dieser Entwicklung entgegenzusteuern und bewusst der Atmosphäre CO₂ zu entziehen. Hier kommen die sogenannten "Kohlenstoffsenken" in Betracht, natürliche Reservoirs, die Kohlenstoffdioxid aus der Luft aufnehmen und speichern. Diese können mithilfe globaler Aufforstungsprojekte langfristig geschaffen werden.

Hierbei ist es wichtig zu beachten, dass ein Wald nur dann als funktionsfähige Kohlenstoffsenke fungieren kann, wenn die Bäume durch Höhenwachstum noch biologische Vorteile genießen, der Wald also noch kein ausgewachsener Urwald ist.

iStock-1066602804.jpg
jay-mantri-TFyi0QOx08c-unsplash.jpg

Welche Bedeutung hat Mitigation für den Klimawandel?

In der Klimapolitik meint Mitigation prinzipiell die Reduzierung des Treibhausgasausstoßes, um den globalen Anstieg der Temperaturen zu begrenzen. Momentan gilt das Ziel, die Erwärmung der Erde auf maximal 1,5 Grad Celsius zu begrenzen. Die wichtigste Maßnahme ist der Ausstieg aus der Verbrennung fossiler Rohstoffe für die Energieerzeugung und der Umstieg auf alternative Energieträger wie Wind- oder Wasserkraft. Zudem muss idealerweise der Atmosphäre klimaschädliches CO₂ entzogen werden. Ein bedeutender Beitrag wird geleistet durch die Aufforstung der Wälder, da Pflanzen Kohlendioxid binden. Auch Böden gelten als wichtige Kohlenstoffspeicher, entsprechend müssen Maßnahmen zum Schutz von Mooren und Permafrostböden ergriffen werden. 

bottom of page